Testing WLAN Station with CC3100 Booster Pack and Tiva Connected Launchpad

IMG_0218

The WLAN station example program using CC3100 connects to a Wi-Fi access point and then checks for internet connectivity by pinging “www.ti.com”.

Earlier version of CC3100 SDK only includes WLAN station example program for Tiva Launchpad. Several TI e2e members including me modify the WLAN station to work for Booster Pack 1 connector for Tiva Connected Launchpad. From Tiva Connected Launchpad and CC3100 Booster Pack photo on top of the post the Booster Pack 2 connector is at the right side of the Tiva Connected Launchpad, near the debug USB cable.

During my try to modify the WLAN station to work for Booster Pack 1 connector for Tiva Connected Launchpad, I downloaded a fresh copy of CC3100 SDK, and found a WLAN station example program for Tiva Connected Launchpad. I imported the WLAN station example program to my Code Composer Studio workspace for Tiva Connected Launchpad. I build it and I got a build error pointing out that my Tivaware Installation path is not setup at Code Composer Studio.

I corrected the Path Variable TIVAWARE_ROOT and set the folder location to my Tivaware installation directory (C:\EK-TM4C129)

To change Path Variables go to CCS Project Properties->Resource->Linked Resources.

I rebuild the WLAN station example program for Tiva Connected Launchpad and the build errors got resolved.

After reviewing the WLAN station example program for Tiva Connected Launchpad, I found out that it is setup for Tiva Connected Launchpad Booster Pack 2 Connector

Here below is the pin connections table of Tiva Connected Launchpad Booster Pack 2 Connector and CC3100 Booster Pack

.TivaBP2CC3100

The highlighted “green” cells at the table indicates the pin compatibility of Tiva Connected Launchpad and CC3100 Booster Pack.

At Code Composer Studio, I “run” the WLAN station example program and got the desired output at Tera Term.

WLAN Station output at Tera Term

wlanstation

Later on I got to review the WLAN station example program for Tiva Connected Launchpad, to learn in depth how the entire program works.

The WLAN station example program for Tiva Connected Launchpad is a good starting point for anyone, who want to develop products with similar application.

I hope this guide be of some help to those trying out the WLAN station example program with CC3100 Booster Back and Tiva Connected Launchpad.

Leave a Reply

